Country: Kenya

Population: 36,913,721

Capital: Nairobi

Time Zone: UTC+3

Currency Name: Kenyan shilling (KES)

Government Type: Republic

Languages: English (official), Kiswahili (official), numerous indigenous languages

Ethnic Breakdown: Kikuyu 22%, Luhya 14%, Luo 13%, Kalenjin 12%, Kamba 11%, Kisii 6%, Meru 6%, other African 15%, non-African (Asian, European, and Arab) 1%

Religion: Protestant 45%, Roman Catholic 33%, Muslim 10%, indigenous beliefs 10%, other 2%

Major Cities: Nairobi, Mambasa

Phone Country Code: 254

Health Concerns: very high risk of food, waterborne, vectorborne and water contact diseases (diarrhea, Hepatitis A, typhoid fever, malaria, schistosomiasis)

Official Tourism Website:

High Travel Season: January, February

Voltage: 240 V - 50 Hz

Electrical Plug Type: g

Major Holidays: January 1 (New Year's Day), Easter, May 1 (Labor Day), June 1 (Madaraka Day), October 10 (Was Moi Day), October 20 (Kenyatta Day), December 12 (Jamhuri Day), December 25 (Christmas Day), December 26 (Boxing Day)

Misc Fact / Good to Know: Kenya has introduced wildlife conservation into the public school curriculum