Country: Tanzania

Population: 39,384,223

Capital: Dar es Salaam

Time Zone: UTC+3

Currency Name: Tanzanian shilling (TZS)

Government Type: republic

Languages: Kiswahili or Swahili (official), Kiunguja (name for Swahili in Zanzibar), English (official, primary language of commerce, administration, and higher education), Arabic (widely spoken in Zanzibar), many local languages

Ethnic Breakdown: mainland - African 99% (of which 95% are Bantu consisting of more than 130 tribes), other 1% (consisting of Asian, European, and Arab); Zanzibar - Arab, African, mixed Arab and African

Religion: mainland - Christian 30%, Muslim 35%, indigenous beliefs 35%; Zanzibar - more than 99% Muslim

Major Cities: Dar es Salaam, Mwanza, Dodoma, Arusha

Phone Country Code: 255

Health Concerns: food or waterborne diseases: bacterial diarrhea, hepatitis A, and typhoid fever, vectorborne diseases: malaria, Rift Valley fever and plague are high risks in some locations, water contact disease: schistosomiasis

Official Tourism Website:

High Travel Season: July - August

Voltage: 230 V - 50 Hz

Electrical Plug Type: d, g

Major Holidays: January 1 (New Year's Day), January 10 (Eid El Haj), Easter, April 26 (Union Day), May 1 (Labor Day), August 8 (Farmer's Day), October (Nyerere Day), October 23-24 (Eid El Fitr Celebration), December 9 (Independence & Republic Day), December 25 (Christmas Day), December 26 (Boxing Day), December 30 (Eid El Haj)

Misc Fact / Good to Know: The name Tanzania comes from a blending of the two names Tanganyika and Zanzibar.