Author: Megan Lee

5 Tips for Celebrating Christmas in a Foreign Culture

Christmas and its traditions seem to quickly be seeping across many borders. Whether you are reading this from your home in jolly ol’ England or sunny Dubai, whether you have a view of Mt. Everest or are taking in the surf on Australia’s Gold Coast, it’s likely that you have already heard Jingle Bells or seen brightly lit up Christmas trees in sometimes the most random locations. When I was an intern in Beijing, China, I often forgot I was living in a country where Christmas is not a national holiday (that is, until I remembered I had to go to work that day).

Though most of those Christmas decorations may be concentrated in hotels and shopping malls, it was still hard to ignore the celebration of Christmas in this otherwise secular country. Christmas in China is largely based on its depiction in foreign media. The combination of marketing and its status as a foreign holiday that’s  “hip” or “luxurious” have led many shops, restaurants, markets, et al. to hop on the Christmas bandsleigh. But does it really feel like Christmas?

Not exactly. Still, for me Christmas is a special time to share with family, friends, and good food, no matter where you are.

Celebrating Christmas in a country that doesn’t celebrate Christmas the way you do at home (or doesn’t celebrate Christmas traditionally at all) this year? While celebrating Christmas abroad may not be exactly like celebrating Christmas at home, it can certainly still be special and memorable. Try these tips for finding those warm fuzzy holiday feelings without the familiar comforts of home.

1. Embrace local holiday traditions!