Country: Russia

Population: 141,377,752

Capital: Moscow

Time Zone: Russia is divided into 11 time zones

Currency Name: Russian ruble (RUB)

Government Type: federation

Languages: Russian, many minority languages

Ethnic Breakdown: Russian 79.8%, Tatar 3.8%, Ukrainian 2%, Bashkir 1.2%, Chuvash 1.1%, other or unspecified 12.1%

Religion: Russian Orthodox 15-20%, Muslim 10-15%, other Christian 2%

Major Cities: Moscow, St. Petersburg

Phone Country Code: 7

Health Concerns:

Official Tourism Website:

High Travel Season: June - August

Voltage: 220 V - 50 Hz

Electrical Plug Type: c, f

Major Holidays: January 1 (New Year's Day), January 7 (Christmas), January 25 (Students Day), February 23 (Defender of the Fatherland Day), March 8 (Women's Day), May 1 (Labor Day), May 9 (Victory Day), June 12 (Russia Day), November 4 (Unity Day)

Misc Fact / Good to Know: If you travel across Russia, you will cross 7 time zones.