Country: Guyana

Population: 769,095

Capital: Georgetown

Time Zone: UTC-4

Currency Name: Guyanese dollar (GYD)

Government Type: Republic

Languages: English, Amerindian dialects, Creole, Caribbean Hindustani (a dialect of Hindi), Urdu

Ethnic Breakdown: East Indian 50%, black 36%, Amerindian 7%, white, Chinese, and mixed 7%

Religion: Christian 50%, Hindu 35%, Muslim 10%, other 5%

Major Cities: Georgetown, New Amsterdam

Phone Country Code: 592

Health Concerns:

Official Tourism Website:

High Travel Season: December - March

Voltage: 240 V - 60 Hz

Electrical Plug Type: a, b, d, g

Major Holidays:

Misc Fact / Good to Know: Guyana was a British colony until 1966 and is now an independent nation within the Commonwealth. It is the only English-speaking country on the South American continent.